April Writing Update

April Writing UpdateAt the beginning of the year, I set myself monthly writing goals for working on my novel The Secrets The Dead Keep, which should hopefully leave me with a finished manuscript by the end of the year.

April’s writing goal was to start brainstorming ideas for the rest of the series, with the aim of deciding the length of the series (trilogy/duology/etc) and the major events of each book. However, I hadn’t finished the third draft by the end of March, as I had hoped, so I also needed to do that, as well as start finding critique partners.

Read on to find out how I did, and what my goals for May are!

I admit I’ve not done as much as I wanted or worked as hard as I wanted this last month, but that doesn’t mean I got nothing done (thank goodness!).

After far longer than I intended, I eventually managed to finish my third draft! I immediately sent it to some of those whose opinions on it I wanted, and one of them has actually started reading it! Excluding instances of having my notes-to-self pointed out (I always seem to forget to remove them before sending drafts to people), feedback has been mostly good so far!

I also decided it was time to make a page on my site dedicated to my novel! On there, you can find the current blurb, the working cover, related doodles and artwork, and more!

Which brings us up-to-date on the TSDTK front – but what about the sequel planning?

In terms of how long a series it should be, I’ve been leaning toward a duology for a while now. On one hand, there are already so many trilogies and longer series’ out there that I don’t want to add to that. But on the other hand, squeezing all the story I want to tell into one book would be difficult, and would make for a rather long book, which, for a first time author, would make publishing traditionally harder than it ought to be – a publisher can’t invest the time it would need to refine an abnormally long book and the resources to print thousands of copies if there’s no guarantee it’ll be successful because its author is untested. So a duology seems like a nice compromise between the two.IMG_20170424_164121_434

Unfortunately, I’m still working on getting the major events of the second book down. I have a much better idea of the beginning of the story, and a relatively good idea of how it will end, but there’s still a hazy section in the middle that I’m struggling to sort out. I’m not really sure the best way to decide what will happen here, so this may take a while.

In the meantime, though, let’s look at my goals for May:

To start discussions and feedback with critique partners (assuming I have found suitable critique partners).

So basically this month’s goal is “just keep working at it”! I already have a few critique partners lined up, but I’m still hoping for at least one who I don’t know to give me an outside writer’s opinion. If you’re interested, let me know!

How’re your writing projects going? Let me know in the comments!

And if you’d like to keep up with all my blog posts, you can follow my blog via email, Google+, or my Facebook page! All the relevant links are in the sidebar on the right of the page. 🙂

Leave a Reply

